The five National Outdoor Badges recognize a Boy Scout who demonstrates both knowledge and experience in camping, hiking, aquatics, riding, and adventure. Scouts earning the National Outdoor Badges have demonstrated that they are knowledgeable, safe, and comfortable in the outdoor activity covered by the badge.

When the first badge is earned, the scout receives the center patch and earned segment. Additional segments are added as the badges are earned.

National Outdoor Badges may be earned in the following areas:
  • Aquatics:

    A Boy Scout or Varsity Scout may earn the National Outdoor Badge for Aquatics upon successfully completing the following requirements:
    1. Earn the First Class rank.
    2. Earn the Swimming and Lifesaving merit badges.
    3. Earn the Mile Swim BSA Award.
    4. Earn at least one of the following merit badges: Canoeing, Rowing, Small Boat Sailing, Whitewater. Complete at least 25 hours of on-the-water time, applying the skills that you learned in the merit badges.
    5. Complete at least 50 hours of any combination of swimming, canoeing, rowing, small-boat sailing, or whitewater activity under the auspices of the Boy Scouts of America, including time spent in requirements 2 through 4.

    A gold device may be earned for each additional 25 hours of aquatic activity. A silver device is earned for each additional 100 hours of aquatic activity. The Scout may wear any combination of devices totaling his current number of hours of aquatic activity.

    This site is run by Troop 1539, Orca District, Chief Seattle Council, Boy Scouts of America
    It is not an official BSA site